NEWPORT'S Tony Pulis wants to establish Crystal Palace in the top flight after being named Premier League manager of the year by the League Managers' Association and Barclays manager of the year.

Palace boss Pulis can reflect proudly on a magnificent six months at Selhurst Park.

The Eagles looked doomed in November and were stuck in the drop zone when the 56-year-old replaced Ian Holloway.

Having accumulated four points from their opening 11 games to sit six points from safety, Pulis took the reins and steered Palace up to 11th place and was rewarded for his efforts with the division's award.

It was the first time in five attempts that the London side had survived a season in the Premier League without being relegated.

On receiving the LMA award, Pulis said: "We finished sixth in the Championship last season and 11th in the Premier League this season. That's a 15 place jump!

"But it's not just about me. It's about Steve Parish (chairman) and three other directors, the supporters and the players.

"This is a community club based in the most densely populated area in London and has a great opportunity of pushing forward.

"We've got to stay in the Premier League for the next two or three years to realise what we can eventually achieve. We have to look forward and say this is the way we will go and do it."

Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers won the overall LMA manager of the year title.

The Northern Irishman was honoured for the first time at the annual awards dinner in London after he led the Reds to second place in the Premier League, which was the club's highest finish in five years.

The award is voted for by all LMA members, including every manager from the top four professional leagues in English football.

LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson said of Rodgers' win: "There can be no greater tribute to a manager and his work than a tribute awarded by his match day foes and peers. This evening we applaud Brendan Rodgers as he receives that most valuable award.

"Liverpool Football Club's performances and results this season have provoked memories of some of those momentous years in the past when they had to contend with those two United's, the first from Leeds, the second from Manchester.

"For Liverpool and Brendan, I'm sure we all hope this season marks the beginning of a new voyage and a new era."

Leicester manager Nigel Pearson won the Championship award after he steered the Foxes to automatic promotion to the top flight, while in League One Wolves' Kenny Jackett and Leyton Orient's Russell Slade shared the prize.

Scunthorpe's Russ Wilcox picked up the League Two award with Sheffield United's Nigel Clough named the FA Cup Manager of the Year.