Faletau the only Dragon bound for South Africa

10:45pm Friday 30th May 2014

By Chris Kirwan

TAULUPE Faletau is the sole Newport Gwent Dragons representative in the Wales squad for the tour of South Africa.

The number eight is a certain starter in the two Tests against the Springboks but won’t be joined in the touring party by his regional captain Andrew Coombs.

The lock/back row got through plenty of work in the Probables versus Possibles trial match at the Liberty Stadium but didn’t make the 32-strong squad.

Coach Warren Gatland instead opted for a quartet of locks in captain Alun Wyn Jones, Luke Charteris, Jake Ball and Ian Evans with Dan Lydiate, Aaron Shingler, Josh Turnbull and Dan Baker getting the nod in the back row.

It is likely that Dragons wing Tom Prydie would have been selected were it not for a quad injury and that opened the door for Matthew Morgan and Jordan Williams, who are joined in the party by fellow uncapped players Steve Shingler and Gareth Davies.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland, meanwhile, has named three players who went off injured during the trial - centre Jamie Roberts (shoulder), hooker Ken Owens (knee) and prop Samson Lee (arm). Lee appeared to be the most seriously injured of the trio.

Wales will open the tour with a June 10 clash against the Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth, before tackling South Africa in Durban four days later and then again in Nelspruit on June 21.

Wales squad: Backs - L Williams (Scarlets), M Morgan (Ospreys), J Williams (Scarlets), G North (Northampton), A Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), C Allen (Cardiff Blues), J Roberts (Racing Metro), J Davies (Scarlets), S Shingler (Scarlets), J Hook (Perpignan), D Biggar (Ospreys), M Phillips (Racing Metro), R Williams (Scarlets), G Davies (Scarlets).

Forwards - G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), P James (Bath), A Jones (Ospreys), R Jones (Scarlets), S Lee (Scarlets), A Jarvis (Ospreys), K Owens (Scarlets), M Rees (Cardiff Blues), S Baldwin (Ospreys), A-W Jones (Ospreys, captain), L Charteris (Perpignan), J Ball (Scarlets), I Evans (Ospreys), A Shingler (Scarlets), J Turnbull (Scarlets), D Lydiate (Racing Metro), T Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), D Baker (Ospreys).


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Campaign Series: site_logo http://www.campaignseries.co.uk

Click 2 Find Business Directory http://www.campaignseries.co.uk/trade_directory/