doc

NO action will taken over the alleged bite on wing George North during Wales’ dramatic Six Nations loss to France in Paris.

The winger was furious in the closing stages of the 20-18 loss at the Stade de France, making his claim to referee Wayne Barnes and showing a mark on his right bicep.

The English official asked the television match official to look for video evidence but there was none while the game was going on.

An independent citing commissioner looked at the footage after the game but was also unable to find proof of any wrongdoing.

“Based on the information available to him in the case of the alleged bite (including footage of the incident from several angles), the citing commissioner has not been able to conclude that any particular individual carried out an act of foul play, and accordingly he has not made a citing complaint ahead of the ordinary deadline for doing so, ie within 48 hours after the conclusion of the match,” read a Six Nations statement.

“While the relevant rules provide that in certain circumstances, for example where the citing commissioner is uncertain as to the identity of the player(s) concerned, he is permitted to make a citing complaint after the 48-hour deadline, Six Nations Rugby anticipates that this will be the end of the matter in terms of the alleged bite.”