CWMCARN Paragon's Andrew Butcher followed up his superb WCA Team Time Trial Championship-winning ride with another outstanding performance to take victory in the penultimate round of the Evening 10 Series.

He recorded his ninth win of the season with a powerful display of stamina and speed, clocking a time of 20mins 14secs ahead of fellow Welsh champion Andrew Stokoe.

Evening 10 result: A.Butcher (20.41), A.Stokoe (21.44), Richard Harris (21.54), Warren King (21.59), Gareth Pugh (22.16), Joseph Wiltshire (22.18), Ross Porter (23.06), Steve Powell (23.10), Ryan Brain (23.11 PB), Richard Hopkins (23.59), Rhys Jenkins (24.04 PB), Barrie McGregor (24.49), Dewi Lloyd (24.57), Rob Mould (25.50), Phil Bradshaw (26.04), Mark Gonzalez (26.22), Poppy Thompson (28.22 PB).

The fastest ride of the night was by guest rider Jon Mould, the Newport-born winner of the recent Welsh Road Race Championship, with a stunning time of 20.05.

On a night of many excellent rides exciting junior rider Ryan Brain recorded a personal best time of 23.11. Brain came to the attention with his first competitive race in last years Hill-Climb Championship, where he finished a promising 11th.

At the end of the season he was thrown in at the deep end to contest the Welsh Hill-Climb, where he produced a superb ride to clinch the Welsh title for Cwmcarn,.

He ended the season by reducing his 10 mile best from 28.09 to 24.39 and this season, under the expert coaching of British Cycling's Tony Carpenter, he has continually improved.

His performances have attracted the attention of Welsh Cycling, who invited him to train with their Development Squad.

After his excellent performance at the World Police and Fire Games, Barrie McGregor has continued his fine form by taking second overall in the Vinpin Road Race and ninth and tenth positions in the Welsh Criterium Series.