Edwards Coaches and Euro Commercials were among the winners of the inaugural Wales Transport Awards.

Founded by The Caldicot Group and Grapevine Event Management, the awards were created to highlight the breadth and depth of talent that exists across the Welsh transport community.

More than 40 finalists from across all parts of Wales competed for 11 awards in a variety of different categories, ranging from Fleet of the Year to Transport Team of the Year.

With overall sponsorship by The Caldicot Group – one of the UK’s leading road works, commercial and domestic recovery specialists – the awards are the only one of their kind in Wales to recognise the crucial work that transport companies do to keep business moving in Wales.

Other sponsors included Glenside Commercials, Network Training Partnership, Plant I, Petronas PLI, Traveline Cymru and Bluegg.

Denise Lovering, Glenside Commercials, which has a based in Newport, and head judge for the Wales Transport Awards, said: “These awards have highlighted the importance of the transport sector in Wales. I am delighted that these awards have shone a spotlight on the industry and the people in it that work tirelessly to ensure the smooth running of business in Wales.”

Gavin Edwards, of The Caldicot Group, said: “The Wales Transport Awards was not only about recognising the companies themselves, but about rewarding the people behind the scenes too. Friday night saw just that and it is a great pleasure to support an awards that appreciates the hard work of those who keep the Welsh transport industry moving.”

The winners were: Excellence in Technology and Innovation Award - VehoGroup; Fleet of the Year - Alun Griffiths (Contractors); Customer Care Award - Euro Commercials (SW); Livery of the Year - Edwards Coaches; Driver of the Year - Keith Thomas – First Cymru; Haulier of the Year - Edge Transport; Transport Team of the Year - First Cymru East; Apprentice of the Year - Demi Woodham, Transport for Wales Rail Service; Women in Transport Award - Rose Williams, Williams Coaches, Brecon; Services to the Transport Industry Award - PTI Cymru; Transport Operator of the Year - Owens Group.