IT was the visitors who started the quickest, managing to get some phase play in the Quins' half which earned them a penalty, writes Robert Rees. Rhys Jones slotted over the three points.

It didn’t take long for Carmarthen to respond as straight from the restart they went on the attack, which gave Aled Thomas the chance to level the game. Both sets of forwards were working hard but it was Ebbw who were on top at the scrum. Four consecutive penalties ensured referee Aled Liddington had no other option but to go under the posts and award the penalty try.

In a game which wasn’t being controlled by either side, Quins took advantage of another Steelmen mistake. Carl Meyer’s kick went out on the full and allowed Quins to build an attack off their driving maul. Steff Marshall put a grubber kick through for Osian Knott to dive on.

Steffan Thomas, darting down the wing, allowed Lewis Young to score for Ebbw from a well-run angle.

But the hosts had the last laugh of the half with a penalty.

Half time: Carmarthen Quins 13 Ebbw Vale 17.

The second half was a total switch around in form as Carmarthen started to dominate. They took control of both the scrum and driving maul. Ebbw’s defence held out, but they conceded numerous penalties, two of which Aled Thomas slotted over to give Quins the lead.

Quins prop forward Steff Phillips saw yellow for a professional foul, but Ebbw couldn’t take their chances.

The fatal blow for the hosts was a missed kick to touch which winger Toby Fricker ran back. Ebbw carried hard and earned the penalty out wide which Rhys Jones converted to send the Steelmen through to round two.

Full time: Carmarthen Quins 19 Ebbw Vale 20.

Carmarthen Quins; Steff Phillips, Thomas Ball, Connor Allen, Lee Taylor, Hayden Pugh ©, Ed Siggery, Gethin Davies, Lewys Millin, Jonathan Evans, Steffan Marshall, Dylan Morgans, Josh Batcup, Osian Knott, Curtis Ford, Aled Thomas. Replacements; Carwyn Harries, Lewis Roberts, Javan Sebastian, Rhys Minchin, Sion Collella, Gareth Rees, Marc Roberts, Dan Evans.

Ebbw Vale; Ross Jones, Rhys Francis, Rob Sevenoaks, Rhys Clarke, Ashley Sweet ©, Cameron Regan, Lloyd Evans, Lewis Young, Dai Jones, Rhys Jones, Toby Fricker, James Lewis, Carl Meyer, Steffan Thomas, Dan Haymond. Replacements; Joe Franchi, Luke Garrett, Curtis Hicks, Kristian Parker, Owen Young, Matthew Flanagan, Luke Shore, Sam Ireland.

Star man: Ashley Sweet