THE Dragons will head to the home of both of last year's Guinness PRO14 finalists in their bid to end their league away drought next season, writes Chris Kirwan.

After two seasons of the conference system, a rejig means that the Rodney Parade region will now be pooled with runners-up Glasgow rather than Edinburgh, the Ospreys instead of the Scarlets, Zebre and not Benetton and the Cheetahs rather than the Southern Kings.

They remain in the same group as Irish provinces Leinster, who beat the Warriors at Celtic Park to become champions, and Ulster.

Fixtures have not yet been announced and are influenced by the Football League schedule, with the Dragons sharing Rodney Parade with League Two Newport County and the Ospreys slotting in around Swansea of the Championship.

The reshuffle was decided by last season's point tallies with an even spread of two Welsh teams, a pair of Irish provinces and one club each from Scotland, Italy and South Africa.

The Dragons face all of their six Conference A rivals both home and away, as well as tackling Cardiff Blues and the Scarlets twice.

They take on the five non-Welsh Conference B teams either home or away, with the fixtures reversed in 2020/21.

The new Judgement Day agreement will ensure that the two regions that have a split of 11 game on their own turf and 10 away fixtures will give up home advantage for the double-header at Principality Stadium.

New Dragons boss Dean Ryan will be aiming to end the region's embarrassing streak away from Newport in the PRO14.

They haven't triumphed since beating Treviso in March, 2015 – 44 games ago.

The region did end their losing streak with a late draw against the Kings in Port Elizabeth in April and won at Principality Stadium against the Scarlets, although that clash on neutral territory was classed as a home fixture.

The PRO14 will start later than normal on the last weekend of September because of the World Cup with Celtic Cup fixtures filling the void.

The impact of Japan 2019 means that the final will not be held until late June.

Conference A: Glasgow, Leinster, Ulster, Ospreys, Dragons, Zebre, Cheetahs.

Conference B: Edinburgh, Munster, Connacht, Cardiff Blues, Scarlets, Benetton, Southern Kings.