BLACKWOOD won the toss at Bryn Road and followed the trend of batting in superb conditions on a hard wicket and fast outfield.

Dan Wilkinson scored 86 not out and Simon Davies 58 as they reached 246-6. Ben Green had 2-41 for Tondu and Brian Thomas 2-58.

Tondu rarely make that many runs but opener Craig Townsend was in fine form and carried his bat for a magnificent 130 not out (13 fours).

Support came from Richard Ready (32), James Leppard (24) and Jamie W i l l i a m s o n (20no) and the Waterwheelers made it in 46.2 overs. Callum Herring took 2- 50 for Blackwood.

N ew b r i d g e piled up 337-6 at home to N e w p o r t Fugitives with James Morgan making 1,245, Dave Fortune 117 and J o n a t h a n Westwood 35.

Steve Durston took 3-53 for the Fugitives.

James Didcote (57no), Richard Jones (46) and Matthew Evans (42) all threatened but the Fugitives were still well short at the close on 238-7.

Ryan Watkins took 2-33 for Newbridge and Cael Jones 2-45.

Pontymister still rule the roost in Division Three after a good win at Lisvane.

They batted all the way down to reach 291-8 with Khawaja Ajmal getting 46 not out, Nazir Ahmed 44, Abdullah Malik 34, Rizwan Nanabawa 33, Zulfi Ali 30, Louis Tovey and Abbas Ashraf 27 and Amanullah Armani 22.

Justin Rowles had 10-1-72-4 for Lisvane and Irfan Mohammed 10-1- 61-3.

Snehasis Tripathy (49) and Sree Reddivari (44) were the main run makers for Lisvane but they were dismissed for 149. Zulfi Ali returned 5-1-19-5 for Pontymistr Mo Asif 6-1-1- 14-3 and Armani 6-1-23-2.

Barry Wanderers also clocked up some runs as they reached 326-6 at home to Cross Keys who have been doing well recently.

Aled Hughes hit a magnificent 188 not out and Neil Blundell got 50.

Luke Armstrong (27) was the best Keys could offer as they collapsed to 93 all out.

Medium pacer Prasad took 5-27 for the Wanderers and Dan Bowles 3-34.

Second placed Crumlin kept the pressure on Division Two table toppers Great Western by winning at Blaengarw.

Blaengarw batted first and reached 186 all out with captain Will Struthers making 48, Jordan Samuels 34, Lloyd Griffiths 26, Ryan Dent 23 and Rhys Hosey 18.

David Evans took 2-19 off 9.5 overs for Crumlin, Connor Hopkins 2-30 and Ron Jolliffe 2-42.

It was never easy but Crumlin made it with four wickets in hand with Ian Hopkins (35) and Jolliffe (32) laying the foundation and C o n n o r Hopkins (43no) and Will Davies (15no) applying the finishing touch.

G r a h a m Davies took 3-18 off 10 overs for Blaengarw and Ellis James 2-41 from 10.

J e r e m y Parsons scored 141, described by Penarth III skipper Tom Parkinson as: “A joy to watch,” as A b e r c a r n reached 246 all out. Morgan Crimp took 9.2-0- 54-5 for Penarth III.

Neil Stephens (51) and James Groves (40) tried hard but Penarth III were dismissed for 184. Rob Harrison took 10-3-45-7 for Abercarn.

Cefn Fforest had first knock at Tredegar and set a target of 258 all out with Chris Hagerty getting 54 and Gary Evans 49.

Tredegar almost made it as Robert Morgan scored 90 and Ian Morris 42 not out but they closed on 250-6.

Craig Lowther took 2-53 for Fforest.

Division Four bottom club Abercarn II were at home to Christchurch who went in first and scored 231-6 with Ryan Robertson getting 83 not out, John Davies 65 and Joel Davies 35.

Cael Hughes took 3-59 off nine overs for Abercarn and Mel Martin deserved better than his 10-2-13-0.

Dai Butcher (34no), Gavin Chilton (24) and Peter Haynes (22) battled hard but Abercarn II were 131-9 at the close.

Chepstow III defeated Pontllanfraith by three wickets, Lisvane III lost to Porth and the topof- the-table battle between Monksood II and Cardiff Cobras just went the way of the Cobras.

Radyr IV reached 219-7 with Phil Haines scoring 49 before being run out. Ioan Davies took 3-19 for Cefn Fforest II.

Andrew O’Connor got 40 not out as Fforest fell for 105 with John Llewellyn taking 4-24 for Radyr IV.

Aberdare IV managed 114 all out against Crumlin II for whom, Ben Chowood took 4-27 and Lou Parker 4- 36.

Levi Turley then scored 29 and Carl Tiddles 21 not out as Crumlin II cruised to victory on 115-3.